Baseball Hall of Fame gets new members.

Baseball Hall of Fame gets new members. Derek Jeter and Larry Walker are elected to be a part of it.

New York Yankees player Derek Jeter was one of two players chosen for the Baseball Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Jeter played 20 seasons for the Yankees and won five World Series titles with the team. Jeter was one vote away from being the second player to be elected unanimously. His teammate Mariano Rivera was the first to be elected unanimously last year.

Jeter had a historic career with the Yankees. Sixth draft pick in 1992, Jeter made his debut in May 1995. He was 14 times All-Star of the American League and was sixth of all time with 3,645 hits in his career, according to the Major League Baseball website.

Jeter retired in 2014 and in 2017 he became the twenty-second Yankees player whose number is retired, according to the MLB.

The 2020 Hall of Fame class will be installed in Cooperstown, New York, on July 26.

Larry Walker, the second Canadian-born player in the Hall of Fame

Larry Walker is now the second Canadian-born player chosen for the Hall. The first was Fergie Jenkins, who was included in 1991, according to the Hall of Fame website.

Tuesday was also special for Walker because this was his tenth and final year on the nomination ballot.

The powerful gardener played 17 seasons with the Montreal Expos, Colorado Rockies and the St. Louis Cardinals. He made his debut in August 1989, according to the MLB website.

Walker was a five-time All-Star winner and seven times Golden Glove. He also became the first player in Rockies history to be elected to the Hall of Fame, according to a team press release.

Cardinals president Bill DeWitt Jr. said Walker was instrumental in the team's trip to his first World Series in 17 years. The Cardinals went to the Boston Red Sox.

There were 32 candidates on the ballot.

Two controversial players included were Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, who faced accusations of drug use to improve performance. Both have denied the accusations. None received 75% of the votes needed to be elected. This is the eighth year of each of these two players on the ballot, of 10 possible.




Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author

Recent Articles
May 24, 2020, 11:38 AM - Eddy
May 10, 2020, 11:38 PM - Marcos Rodriguez
May 10, 2020, 11:37 PM - Marcos Rodriguez